From The Grindhouse Cinema Database

Wattstax (1973, USA) is a Soul Music-Comedy-Documentary film directed by Mel Stuart.


Main Details

  • Released on February 4, 1973 (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Color
  • Running time: 103 minutes
  • Production Co.: Stax Records| Wolper Productions
  • Distribution Co.: Columbia Pictures
  • Directed by Mel Stuart
  • Starring: Isaac Hayes, The Dramatics, The Staple Singers, Richard Pryor, Kim Weston

Plot Summary

  • Documentary covering a Stax Records-sponsored all-day concert at the 1972 Watts Summer Festival with performances by Stax Records artists such as Isaac Hayes, Rufus Thomas, The Staples Singers, and more.


  • A soulful expression of the living word...
  • Laugh! Cry! Sing! Hear! Feel! Dance! Shout!
  • Grindhouse Database Newsletter
  • Exploitation books
  • Kung fu movies
  • Giallo BluRay